Bananas foster growth for one family in India

April 5, 2013 at 8:00 am Leave a comment

We recently heard from our Hyderabad project in India about several mothers of sponsored children who are exemplifying the potential of families living in poverty. Here’s the story of Sujatha – enjoy!

My husband used to work as a daily laborer for a contractor. He would sell bananas on the side of the road from morning until late in the evening. The contactor would only pay $2.77 USD per day.

We were never assured of a regular income. If my husband fell ill or if the contactor didn’t have fruits to sell, we lost our income for that day.

My husband and I decided together to purchase a puller cart (a large, flat cart with handles used to sell items), so we could sell bananas on our own.

My daughter, Shoba, is sponsored through CFCA. In January, I obtained a loan through my CFCA mothers group and bought a puller cart. Luckily, a store owner allowed us to place our cart in front of his shop on the main road.

My husband goes to purchase the fruits, and I manage the stand until he returns. When he arrives with the new fruits, he continues the work and I go home to manage the household work.

The group loan helped us to purchase the puller cart and the fruits we sell. Now we are receiving a good income to support our family. We are planning to take out another loan through my mothers group, so we can purchase a second puller cart and sell a wider variety of fruits.

My dream is to own our own home and also give a better future to my two daughters.

I am also interested in helping people. I learned this charity from my daughter’s sponsors.

Entry filed under: Asia, sponsor. Tags: , , , , .

Making eco-friendly curtains and jewelry in Honduras A place to call home

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,458 other followers

Contact CFCA

Christian Foundation
for Children and Aging
1 Elmwood Avenue
Kansas City, Kansas 66103

1.800.875.6564 | 913.384.6500
mail@cfcausa.org www.cfcausa.org

