Project coordinator in Uganda: ‘I am a true believer of change’

January 17, 2013 at 9:00 am 6 comments

Teddy Naluwu, Kampala project coordinator in Uganda and former CFCA sponsored child.

Teddy Naluwu, Kampala project coordinator in Uganda and former CFCA sponsored child.

I hope to transform others’ lives through my work with CFCA.

My name is Teddy Naluwu, and I am 31 years old. I have been a part of the CFCA family for more than 20 years, first as a sponsored child and later as an employee.

I have been working for CFCA for the past seven years, and I currently serve as Kampala project coordinator for Uganda, Africa.

Personally, I am a true believer of change. I have seen myself transform from a humble “country girl” to project coordinator of a sizeable project.

Because of CFCA sponsorship and the education I received, I am able to help break through the lines of poverty within my family.

The CFCA-Kampala project believes that we can make the world a better place through our collective efforts.

Engaging with the families in CFCA project activities is an important aspect of my work that shapes my attitude and performance, and boosts my self-worth.

The sponsored children are glad and confident to share their experiences and aspirations with me, as we share similar backgrounds. They look up to me as an inspiration for their career advancement.

As project coordinator, I have earned the respect and trust of the parents/guardians, who call on me to advise their children about the right career paths.

There have been some challenges in serving a community where I have been raised, given our cultural norms and beliefs. Some parents view me as a young woman, similar to their own child, and so sometimes they are reluctant to respond to the project’s initiatives.

Nevertheless, since we are committed to serving the families, challenges are tackled openly.

We identify the families’ interests and the problems affecting them, discuss them within the Sponsored Self-help Group monthly meetings, implement solutions and measure progress toward achieving the desired outcomes.

This has proven the most practical approach that yields visible results — families growing, realizing their abilities and believing in themselves as they work to uplift their social and economic situations.

Entry filed under: Africa, Around the World with CFCA, cfca, christian foundation for children and aging, sponsor a child. Tags: , , , , .

When a natural disaster hits, does CFCA tell sponsors if sponsored friends are affected? Familiar face brings CFCA to new audiences

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John Jones  |  January 21, 2013 at 3:03 am

    I believe and work in the work of CFCA in uganda. Thank you for the transformations you have gone through and you are translating to the world. There is alot more to be done.. many people i have met wish they had the opportunity to join the CFCA world. We pray and wish you expand and cover the whole of uganda. Blessings Teddy and your team

    Reply
  • 2. Joseph Yiga  |  January 22, 2013 at 2:40 am

    Thank you Teddy. We shall keep the fire burning. I believe in your stewardship as well as that of the entire CFCA staff. We have achieved many, we still have much more to achieve. Blessings to all the sponsors, families and to the entire staff of CFCA

    Reply
  • 3. Peter  |  January 23, 2013 at 8:40 am

    Good work old friend! There is much work to do to save the children. Wish you much strength and innovation. Peter

    Reply
  • 4. David Herbison  |  February 3, 2013 at 10:42 am

    God’s blessings on you, Teddy, and the entire CFCA Uganda team. I’ve seen first-hand the transformative power of your service to others and the hope and dignity it instills in the many lives you touch. You are an inspiration me and the beautiful people in the “Pearl of Africa”. You and the CFCA Uganda team truly make a meaningful, positive difference in the lives of all who cross your path. Thank you for believing in change and taking the actions that help transform others’ lives for the better.

    Reply
  • 5. polly dunn  |  March 13, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    I just signed up to sponsor a child in Uganda and I am happy that she is going to be in such good hands it is great to read how it made such a difference in your life

    Reply
  • 6. Susan Colton  |  March 27, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    Teddy, ever since my husband and I visited Uganda in 2011 and met you and our sponsored child, I thank God for this trip and I think about you and pray for you and everyone we met every single day. What an inspiration you are. It’s amazing how you lift up this community of wonderful people and help them grow to their full potential. As for us, you left an indelible mark on our hearts. Thank you for all you do. And may God bless you and our beautiful Ugandan brothers and sisters abundantly.
    Love, Ed and Sue Colton

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,457 other followers

Contact CFCA

Christian Foundation
for Children and Aging
1 Elmwood Avenue
Kansas City, Kansas 66103

1.800.875.6564 | 913.384.6500
mail@cfcausa.org www.cfcausa.org

