Sponsored youth: ‘Sponsorship has been my miracle’

December 6, 2012 at 9:00 am 2 comments

CFCA sponsored child, SabinaMy name is Sabina. I have been sponsored through CFCA for many years.

I was born to a very large family of 11 in a remote village 50 miles (80 kilometers) away from the nearest populated city.

My family has faced many difficulties.

There were days when we only had one meal. I used to join my sisters in carrying firewood from a distant jungle so that my mother could cook. Sometimes, we would collect leaves to sell in order to support ourselves.

When I was old enough to go to school 16 years ago, my parents told me that I needed to stay back and help graze cattle because they could not afford to send both me and my brother to school. I wept for days.

A year later, my life changed. God heard my cry when my family received news that I had been sponsored through CFCA.

Because of sponsorship, my parents could finally afford to send me to school. It was then that I made the serious decision to study hard and support my family.

There were times that I had to discontinue my studies because of poverty, but I can now say that I have graduated at the top of my class, and feel that I can support myself.

I recently accepted a job offer and now work as a branch postmaster in Dumka, India. I am one of the first from my village to work for the government.

Sponsorship has been my miracle. If my sponsor, Antoinette, were not in my life, it would have been an uphill battle to finish school. I would not have been able to complete my education.

She has taken care of me and believed in me so that I could become someone in life. God has done marvelous work in my life through her. I am so thankful.

Entry filed under: Around the World with CFCA, Asia, cfca, christian foundation for children and aging, sponsor a child. Tags: , , , , .

Advent reflection: ‘For it is in giving that we receive’ CFCA in the blogosphere: Zena, Elizabeth and Bill

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathleen Everitt  |  December 6, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    Another wonderful CFCA story!

    Reply
  • 2. Paul  |  December 7, 2012 at 11:59 am

    Congratulations Sabina! We are so proud of you! Know you have people who believe in you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,458 other followers

Contact CFCA

Christian Foundation
for Children and Aging
1 Elmwood Avenue
Kansas City, Kansas 66103

1.800.875.6564 | 913.384.6500
mail@cfcausa.org www.cfcausa.org

