Family in India overcomes job loss, starts small businesses

November 30, 2012 at 8:00 am 1 comment

C Rose Mary, mother in IndiaWe recently heard from our Hyderabad project in India about several mothers of sponsored children who are exemplifying the potential of families living in poverty. Here’s the story of C. Rose Mary – enjoy!

I have been involved with CFCA for the last 12 years. It helped us during our most difficult period of economic crisis.

When my husband lost his job, we were worried about our family and our children’s future. During that time I took a loan from my CFCA mothers group and started selling vegetables at our rented home. Eventually my vegetable shop became famous locally.

Suddenly the owner of the house where we were staying asked us to move. We didn’t know what to do next.

As I repaid the previous loan, I took another loan and started a small hotel in an industrial area. Now it’s running very well.

The hotel has supported our family for the past five years. My husband purchases groceries and helps prepare the food. He also serves tea in nearby factories. My son and my two daughters also work at the hotel when they are not in school.

Recently I took another loan to repair our house.

My younger daughter Celestina was sponsored through the Hope for a Family program and has now graduated. We are so thankful to CFCA for being with us and helping us to overcome our difficulties.

My advice for other mothers in mothers groups is to start a business with group loans. It will help you to develop your financial status and will also help you to repay the loan to the group.

Entry filed under: Around the World with CFCA, Asia, cfca, christian foundation for children and aging, sponsor. Tags: , , , .

What’s the best way to let CFCA know when I change my address? ‘Moving on up': Colombian mother buys first home

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Gabriela Leach  |  January 9, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    Wonderful example of courage and self-reliance! Please keep us informed of other families coping with the stressors of life in similar manner… All the power to this lady Rose Marie! May God bless her and her family always.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,457 other followers

Contact CFCA

Christian Foundation
for Children and Aging
1 Elmwood Avenue
Kansas City, Kansas 66103

1.800.875.6564 | 913.384.6500
mail@cfcausa.org www.cfcausa.org

